Back to search

CPR in Schools™: First Aid

The American Heart Association wants everyone to know how to help in an emergency. That’s why we’ve developed CPR in Schools: First Aid. This educational, easy-to-use program is designed to teach middle and high school students, teachers, and staff the first aid skills they need to be prepared to act in an emergency. Each CPR in Schools: First Aid eBook comes with a supplementary streaming video, and any student or teacher can facilitate the video’s modules within one class period.

CPR in Schools: First Aid can be used as a standalone course or in conjunction with the American Heart Association’s CPR in Schools™ Training Kit.

The CPR in Schools: First Aid course topics include:

  • Bleeding and Bandaging
  • Heart-related Illnesses
  • Diabetes and Low Blood Sugar
  • Fainting
  • Seizures
  • Allergic Reactions and Breathing
  • Concussion
  • Head, Neck, and Spine Injuries
  • Drug Overdose and Alcohol Poisoning
  • Risks of Smoking and Vaping
  • Benefits of a Healthy Lifestyle

CPR In Schools Training Kits

Course Information

Developed by the American Heart Association, the trusted leader in heart health and education, this course incorporates the very latest science.

Course Materials

CPR in Schools: First Aid (15-3117) ISBN 978-1-61669-752-5

Community CPR Managers

Tom Mossotti
Community CPR Manager
Eastern States Region
P: 315-399-8091
tom.mossotti@heart.org
CT, DC, DE, MA, ME, MD,
NH, NJ, NY, RI, PA, VA,
VT, WV
Brie Pringle
Community CPR Manager     
Midwest South Region
P: 316 768-3832
brie.pringle@heart.org
IA, IN, KS, KY, MO, NE,
OH
Kiara Landin
Community CPR Manager
Midwest North Region
P: 331-642-2713
kiara.landin@heart.org
IL, MI, MN, ND, SD, WI

John Tutt
Community CPR Manager
Southeast Region
P: 864-404-9715
john.tutt@heart.org
AL, FL, GA, LA, MS, NC,
PR, SC, TN
Deven Daehn
Community CPR Manager 
Southwest Region
P: 479-789-4499
deven.daehn@heart.org
TX, OK, AR, NM, CO, WY

Mike Deitch
Community CPR Manager
Western States Region - North   
P: 213-291-7042
C: 530-305-1328
mike.deitch@heart.org
AK, AZ, CA–N, HI, MT, UT
Shana Contreiras
Community CPR Manager
Western States Region – South 
P: 858-410-3825
shana.contreiras@heart.org
ID, OR, CA-S, NV, WA